Type of Roll for less mobile/athletic?

Paddling , Rolling , Rescues , Surfing
routier1642
KAYAK: Eco Bezhig 540, Dagger Discovery 13 and others...

Type of Roll for less mobile/athletic?

Postby routier1642 » Wed Nov 19, 2014 8:21 pm

I've been doing casual river kayaking for a few years, but now I'm with a group that likes doing estuaries and bays.
This means waves, which means I will need to learn how to roll.
I'm not really interested in dancing on waves or surfing; I just want to be able to survive.

I'm 55 years old, 110kg, with back problems (fasciatis, a little sciatica) which limit my bending and twisting mobility.
I don't think my hips can flick!

Is there any roll I can learn which will work for me?
Maybe a back deck roll, since bending backwards is OK for me?
I'm not flexible but I do have a fair bit of upper body strength.

My preferred sea kayak is my Eco Bezhig, which I understand is hard to roll, so I'd probably better learn in something else, no?

robg
KAYAK: P&H Scorpio, Z one, NDK Explorer, P&H Aries

Re: Type of Roll for less mobile/athletic?

Postby robg » Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:38 pm

Routier you can roll, you just need to find someone who can teach you the right way so you don't get into any bad habits that will put undue strain on your body. Its probably easy to start in a white water boat in a pool because it a controlled environment and generally heated and you will be wet a lot while you get the hang of it. When you are doing it right you will be surprised how easy it is. Have a go.

fer
KAYAK: Valley Aquanaut RM LV

Postby fer » Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:23 am

routier1642 wrote:...This means waves, which means I will need to learn how to roll.
...I'm not flexible but I do have a fair bit of upper body strength....

it doesnt mean you need to roll, it means you need to know who to stay up, good bracing, reflexes and core stability.