Complete newbie

General posting
Leader
KAYAK: Looking

Complete newbie

Postby Leader » Fri Apr 14, 2017 7:23 pm

Hi all,

As the title suggests, I'm new to all this. I've done a couple of sea kayaking trips whilst on holiday and now my partner and I would like to invest in a kayak for future kayaking fun! We'd like to be able to take it with us when we go away in the motorhome so initially we thought about getting an inflatable but the more I read the more confused I get. This is where I'm hoping to glean some helpful pointers from the experts (you!). So far I've gone around in circles between:

1) get an inflatable tandem
2) get a rigid tandem
3) get two rigid solos

The problems are that a) I don't want to get blown away b) I don't want a kayak so heavy we struggle to carry it or get it on the roof

This leads me towards option 3 but it would be nice to have a tandem....

We don't have a big budget but I also don't want to end up with a cheap crappy boat that will be more difficult to paddle. Any help with brands to look for/avoid would also be helpful.

Thanks in advance!

Floater
KAYAK: looking

Re: Complete newbie

Postby Floater » Sat Apr 15, 2017 10:50 pm

The joke is a tandem is called the Divorce Boat.
Is one person an invalid or tied up holding a movie camera old school instead of a gopro mount?
Actually easier to paddle side by side for a chat than one in front of the other.
Lifting a tandem is hard. Onto a campervan harder.
Tandems suck. IMO.
Get single kayaks.

NorthSIKer
KAYAK: Mirage 582, Kaskazi Skua

Postby NorthSIKer » Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:55 pm

Floater wrote:Tandems suck. IMO.
Get single kayaks.

+1

annie1948
KAYAK: Delta 12.10

Postby annie1948 » Sat May 27, 2017 6:18 am

Hi ..I have just posted my Kayak 12.10 For sale with accessories ..Very light weight easy to handle ..Im tiny but still able to load the kayak on to my roof racks ..If you're interested feel free to touch base

Mac50L
KAYAK: Mac50L

Postby Mac50L » Sun May 28, 2017 1:17 pm