My photos taken during kayaking trip

Discuss cameras, techniques, tips and tricks, and post your favorite photos and videos.
Forum rules
NO commercial posts please
henrylw
KAYAK: Delta 17

My photos taken during kayaking trip

Postby henrylw » Mon Jan 25, 2016 6:15 am

Bought my first sea kayak (Delta 17) in August of 2014. Basically everything is self taught -- including rolls. I carved my own greenland paddle and even a custom yoke for kayak portage between lakes. Here are some photos I took during my kayaking trips in Ontario. Hope you will enjoy them. (Flickr is oversharpening all the pictures here, sorry if they look too sharp for you)

More can be seen at my Flickr page:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/henrylw/

jonathan
KAYAK: valley nordkapp rm, mirage 530

Re: My photos taken during kayaking trip

Postby jonathan » Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:55 pm

Hey Henry,
if you kayak like you take photo's - your doing just fine…
beautiful work
thanks for sharing them

gsimson
KAYAK: Cetus,Taran, Delphin, Firestar, SOF Disko Bay, Shearwater 16, Fenn ski

Postby gsimson » Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:14 am

very nice!

Simonl
KAYAK: Prijon Kodiak (Mango)

Postby Simonl » Sun Jan 31, 2016 2:20 pm

Hi Henry,

Nice pics. I'm interested in the technical side of some of these pics. The nightime sky pics show little if any star trails or movement from a long exposure time indicating that maybe you used a motor drive to track the earths movement. However, if you did that it would have shown movement of the ground and other features. Did you have to make multiple exposures, during the day and then leave the camera in situ for a second exposure at night?

I assume for the closer pics you may have used fill in flash for the background but some of the other pics where the subjects are further away I wouldn't imagine that would work?