Mounting cameras to kayaks

Discuss cameras, techniques, tips and tricks, and post your favorite photos and videos.
Forum rules
NO commercial posts please
Dunnart
KAYAK: Riot Edge 14.5

Mounting cameras to kayaks

Postby Dunnart » Fri Dec 16, 2016 6:59 am

Hi everyone

I'm new to the forum and returning to kayaking after decades of absence. My partner and I are getting into sheltered water and river kayaking (including some overnight trips) and want to indulge our video and photography interests. So I'm looking for recommendations on how to mount our cameras onto our kayaks. I've been looking at Ram suction mounts and rail blazer star ports online, but I was wondering if there are other systems/methods out there, pros and cons, etc.

cheers

toquehead
KAYAK: Prijon Marlin HTP

Re: Mounting cameras to kayaks

Postby toquehead » Wed Jan 18, 2017 12:40 pm

I'm very new to the action cam scene, but have mounted a "gorilla" style flexible tripod to my deck immediately in front of the cockpit with bungie cords. I have no remote control, so have to be able to reach the camera to turn it on and off, and I wanted something that would fold up instead of break if I get hammered in the surf in the shallows.

So far it is working well.

Simonl
KAYAK: Prijon Kodiak (Mango)

Postby Simonl » Tue Jan 24, 2017 8:44 am

Hi there,